According to the latest news, WhatsApp is going to introduce disappearing messages just like Facebook Messenger. This new feature can be seen listed in the WhatsApp FAQs section. Once this feature is enabled, after seven days, the messages you share in a conversation will be automatically deleted.
The WhatsApp FAQs section reveals that the company is working on how to toggle it on and off on various platforms. This was first spotted by WABetainfo. This feature is expected to roll out for users across different platforms soon. Some experts are considering that the company might introduce this feature with the next update.
While WhatsApp is largely popular because of its strong end to end encryption, Messenger has been steadily improving as well. Recently, Facebook has introduced new features in Messenger such as the “Always Mute” option for contacts and groups. Reports suggest that the next features in line are “Join Missed Calls” and “Biometric Lock”.
However, there are certain details you need to know before starting with the disappearing messages feature on WhatsApp. According to WhatsApp FAQ section:
- If a user does not open WhatsApp in the seven day period, the message will still disappear. However, a preview of the message might still be displayed in notifications until WhatsApp is opened.
- When you reply to a message, the initial message is quoted. If you reply to a disappearing message, the quoted text might remain in the chat after seven days.
- If a disappearing message is forwarded to a chat with disappearing messages off, the message won’t disappear in the forwarded chat.
- If a user creates a backup before a message disappears, the disappearing message will be included in the backup. Disappearing messages will be deleted as soon as the user restores the backup.
Note that you should try this feature only with trusted individuals and groups because the recipient can still take screenshots, forward, or copy disappearing messages before they finally disappear.
While opting to use this feature, you should keep in mind that when you share a photo, video, or document using disappearing messages, it will get deleted from the chat window of the recipient after seven days but if the receiver has kept the option of auto-download on then it will be saved to his or her device.
In simple words, in a nutshell, WhatsApp’s disappearing message feature is good but it is not a foolproof solution for sharing secrets over the instant messaging platform yet.
Since this feature has not yet rolled out and it is only present in the FAQ section of the platform, it means, the feature will come out very soon. Once the feature rolls out with a new WhatsApp update, users can simply open WhatsApp from Android / iOS, or Web / desktop apps and open a WhatsApp chat. Then they have to tap on “Disappearing messages” and ‘Continue‘ if prompted. That’s all.
Users on KaiOS can simply follow this after opening a WhatsApp chat thread : Options > View contact > OK > Disappearing Messages > EDIT > On > OK.