Some of the users of Google Photos and Google Drive might not know it but both the services offered to sync between them for a long time. However, this will be gone soon as Google has announced the end of integration between both the services. Google’s reason for the end of this integration is for the simplicity of its users.
Here is what Google’s Dan Schlosser and Jason Gupta who are product managers for Drive and Photos respectively said in a joint blog post: “We’ve heard feedback that the connection between these services is confusing, so next month, we’re making some changes to simplify the experience across Drive and Photos,”
Google’s reasoning is that there has been an accidental deletion of photos and videos from users on Google Drive or Photos. And as the services sync with each other, the files are deleted across the services and are lost in this way. But that also means that your photos and videos from Drive will not appear in Photos and vice-versa.
That being said, Google will offer a way for people to copy images or videos from Drive over to Photos with a new “upload from Drive”. This option will now be seen on Google Photos website as well as application. But that also means you will have duplicate files on both Google Drive and Google Photos. Also, it will use up your storage space on both the services.
The best way right now is to use the Google backup and sync service for Drive and Photos. According to Google, the “items uploaded using Backup and Sync in original quality to both services will count only once towards your quota.”. In this way, you don’t end up using all your storage space as well as having the same file on both services.